Asia - Heat Of The Moment

Asia – Heat Of The Moment

“Heat of the Moment” is a song by the British rock band Asia. It was released in April 1982 with “Ride Easy” on the B-side as the first single from their self-titled debut album, “Asia.” The song became one of the band’s most iconic hits and is often regarded as a classic of the 1980s rock music era.

Asia - Heat Of The Moment - Single Cover

Asia was a supergroup formed by four veteran musicians who had previously been members of well-known rock bands: John Wetton (formerly of King Crimson and UK) on vocals and bass, Steve Howe (formerly of Yes) on guitar, Geoff Downes (formerly of Yes and The Buggles) on keyboards, and Carl Palmer (formerly of Emerson, Lake & Palmer) on drums.

“Heat of the Moment” features a distinctive blend of rock and pop elements, characterized by its catchy melody, driving rhythm, and memorable keyboard and guitar lines. The song’s lyrics touch on themes of reflection, self-discovery, and the fleeting nature of decisions made in the heat of the moment.

“Heat of the Moment” received significant radio airplay and MTV rotation, which helped propel it to commercial success. The accompanying music video, featuring shots of the band performing and futuristic visual effects, also contributed to the song’s popularity. The single reached the top of the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the United States, becoming Asia’s biggest hit and solidifying their presence in the music scene. The album “Asia” itself was also a commercial success, reaching multi-platinum status and introducing the band as a force to be reckoned with in the rock world.

Over the years, “Heat of the Moment” has remained a staple of classic rock radio and continues to be celebrated for its catchy hooks and nostalgic value. It’s often cited as one of the standout tracks of the 1980s and is closely associated with the sound of that era.

Asia – Heat Of The Moment – Lyrics