Poison - Every Rose Has Its Thorn

Poison – Every Rose Has Its Thorn

“Every Rose Has Its Thorn” is a power ballad by the American rock band Poison. It was written by the band member, Bret Michaels, C.C. DeVille, Bobby Dall and Rikki Rockett. Released on October 12, 1988 with “Livin for the Minute” on the B-side, it became one of the band’s most popular and enduring songs, included on their second studio album, “Open Up and Say… Ahh!”

Poison - Every Rose Has Its Thorn - single cover

The song features a slow tempo and heartfelt lyrics, sung by Poison’s lead vocalist Bret Michaels. Lyrically, it tells a story of heartbreak and regret, exploring the pain of a failed relationship and the realization that every positive experience often comes with its own difficulties (“Every rose has its thorn, just like every night has its dawn”).

The emotional resonance of “Every Rose Has Its Thorn,” combined with its memorable melody and relatable theme, resonated strongly with audiences. It became a massive commercial success, reaching high positions on the music charts, including topping the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the United States. The song’s power and relatability have made it a classic rock ballad, frequently associated with the 1980s era of rock music.

Poison – Every Rose Has Its Thorn – Lyrics